Connect with us

IPL 2022

CSK vs MI: No DRS Available In Tonight’s Game Due To “Power Issues” At Wankhede



DRS Unavailable CSK MI Wankhede

The match between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) will be played without the Decision Review System (DRS) due to technical difficulties at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Thursday.

The two most successful teams in the league are currently languishing at the bottom of the IPL 2022 points table. While Chennai needs a win to stay alive and kicking in the competition, Mumbai will be playing spoilsport as they are already out of contention for a spot in the playoffs.

Download Button PNG File Download Free

Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to field first, as has been the norm throughout the season. Early on, Daniel Sams jolted CSK twice in the very first over.

Jasprit Bumrah. Photo-IPL, CSK
Jasprit Bumrah. Photo-IPL

He dismissed the in-form opener, Devon Conway, before seeing the back of Moeen Ali. However, controversy brewed in the El Clasico as Conway’s dismissal may have been prevented with the help of the DRS.

Unfortunately for the Kiwi batter, an earlier power issue had caused mayhem at the stadium and the DRS has been made unavailable for the time being.

The technical issue came to light when the toss was delayed by a few minutes due to the floodlights turning off. The match officials gathered to have a chat before moving ahead with the coin toss.

Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, IPL
Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai (Image Credit: Twitter)

Before the toss, there was a short circuit and there was an issue in the system. Because of this, the toss was delayed. One floodlight tower wasn’t getting enough power supply. The officials are working to restore the system,” a Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) official was quoted as saying to The Indian Express.

Thankfully, the power issue was restored just moments after the 4th over of CSK’s innings began. Cricket analyst Aakash Chopra confirmed the same on air during the game.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Playing XI:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, MS Dhoni(w/c), Dwayne Bravo, Maheesh Theekshana, Simarjeet Singh, Mukesh Choudhary

Mumbai Indians (MI) Playing XI:

Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Tilak Varma, Tristan Stubbs, Ramandeep Singh, Tim David, Daniel Sams, Kumar Kartikeya, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meredith

Also Read – CSK vs MI: Kieron Pollard Was The One Who Came Up To Us And Was Ready To Sit Out – Rohit Sharma

Source link